Teaching Reading

Ravenor Primary School – Reading Information

Class Novels:

On a weekly basis, every class in the school has a special time with their teacher to listen to the class novel. The following novels are being read and enjoyed by children in each Year group:


Year 1: The Cat Who Wanted To Go Home (by Jill Tomlinson)

Year 2: The Enchanted Wood (by Enid Blyton)

Year 3: The BFG (by Roald Dahl)

Year 4: Wind in the Willows (by Kenneth Grahame)

Year 5: Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief (by Rick Riordan)

Year 6: Grandpa’s Great Escape (by David Walliams)


The ‘Phonics Bug’ is used across Foundation Stage (FS) and Key Stage One (KS1) to teach children to read. It uses the synthetic phonics teaching method, which improves children’s reading and spelling skills.

Please click on the following links to show what ‘Phonics Bug’ is: